Friday November 28, 2014


Survey results are meant for general information only, and are not based on recognised statistical methods.

Melle earns first Men's Classic title

Mackenzie Hientz

Anthony Melle holds the championship trophy for the Estevan Woodlawn Men's Classic.

Anthony Melle won the Men’s Classic tournament at the TS&M Woodlawn Golf Club for the first time, and he did it in convincing fashion.

Melle carded a 3-over-par 219 total in the three round tournament, which ran from August 2 to 4.

Melle had a four-shot lead over second place Brock Simpson at the start of the final day.

He had a little trouble with the 11th hole in the final round, as he bogeyed it, but caught a break in the following hole.

“I was off to the side on a hill and I pitched it in for birdie, so that really helped me regain my confidence,” he said.

Going into the 18th hole, Melle still had the four-shot lead.

“I just wanted to make sure I got my par, because those guys are good hitters and I knew they’d be attacking the green,” Melle said.

A good start during the first day helped him gain confidence for the entire tournament, he said.

“It started from the first day when I shot 69. I played solid, and I didn’t make any mistakes…just dropped a few puts when I needed to and that got me to a good start,” he said.

Melle said he was nervous after his start on the second day, as he double bogeyed the first two  holes, but recovered and finished with a 3-over-par 75, to be even par through the first two rounds.

He shot another 75 in the third and final round.

Melle said the main thing for him was to consistently make pars on each hole.

“It was a perfect day, perfect weekend; I hit the ball well, the guys that that I played with were awesome and they always kept me on my toes,” he said.

It was Melle’s fourth time competing in the Men’s Classic. He also won the Estevan Oilfield Technical Society’s Oilmen’s Tournament in June.

Brock Simpson was second in the championship flight, with a score of 223. Nolan Rohatyn was third with a 224 and Cody Balon finished fourth with a 229.

The flight winners in the men's event were: Jordan Hegglin in the first flight with a score of 233, Layne Wolos in the second flight with a 236, Tony Heath in the third with a 251, and Bart Shaw in the fourth with a 267.

Terry Rohatyn was the winner in the senior's championship flight with a score of 236. Clark McClelland was second with a 244, and Gary Marklinger finished third with a 246.

The senior's tournament also recognizes net champions, in which a golfer's handicap is subtracted from their overall score. Chris Wright won the net title with a 191. Dale Fox was second with a 211 and Ron Friess finished third with a 212.

A total of 78 golfers entered this year’s tournament.



NOTE: To post a comment in the new commenting system you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Yahoo, OpenID. You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Estevan Lifestyles welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

blog comments powered by Disqus

About Us | Advertise | Contact Us | Sitemap / RSS   Glacier Community Media:    © Copyright 2014 Glacier Community Media | User Agreement & Privacy Policy


Lost your password?