Thursday November 27, 2014


Survey results are meant for general information only, and are not based on recognised statistical methods.

David McDonald wins late model feature

Mackenzie Hientz

(L-R) Aaron Turnbull, Mike Balcaen, Dave Smith, and Tyson Turnbul zip out of turn four during the Blaine Brothers Late Model Challenge Series at the Estevan Motor Speedway, on July 28

The Estevan Motor Speedway welcomed the Blaine Brothers Late Model Challenge Series on July 28, and they did not disappoint.

In the 40-lap, caution-free late model feature, it was a photo finish for first. John Kaanta of Elk Mound, Wisconsin, jumped out an early lead, but all race he was side-by-side with David McDonald from Huron, South Dakota.

On the last lap, both cars were coming out of turn four together, and McDonald gained a slight advantage to win the race.

“I was just being persistent, and I found a little bit something there on the very bottom that John couldn’t get a hold of,” McDonald said. “I just found a foot of traction and I just kept working that and working that.”

He was relieved to get the win, as the series features tough competition.

“It feels really good because when you race with these guys, and you can squeak one out, it’s the best thing we can have happen,” said Mcdonald.

Jake Redetzke of Eau Claire, Wisconsin was third. Aaron Turnbull was the top local driver; he finished in sixth.

Fifteen late models were entered.

In the modified feature Steven Pfeifer came out on top. He worked his way up to second spot by the seventh lap, and took the lead midway through the race. He never relinquished the advantage.

Turnbull passed Tyler Wagner for second spot on the final lap, but it was negated by a caution. Wagner was slotted in second, Turnbull ended up third and Travis Hagen was fourth.

Mason Big Eagle leads the modified division with 202 points. Pfeifer second with 200, and Turnbull third with 197.

Gregg Mann was the winner in the stock car feature. He quickly worked his way into the lead. Rocky Alexander was right behind Mann for the majority of the race and finished second.

Jordan Durward came in third and Brendon Labatte finished fourth.

Geoff Mann is the points leader with 219. Alexander in second with 215, and Gregg Mann in third with 208.

In the hobby stock feature, Brock Beeter finished first. He took the lead with five laps remaining. Ryder Schlopp finished second and in third was Andrew Sebastian. Leevi Runge was fourth.

Brad King leads the hobby stock standings with 265 points. Runge is second with 257 and Scholpp in third with 231.

The next program at the Estevan Motor Speedway is August 9.



NOTE: To post a comment in the new commenting system you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Yahoo, OpenID. You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Estevan Lifestyles welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

blog comments powered by Disqus

About Us | Advertise | Contact Us | Sitemap / RSS   Glacier Community Media:    © Copyright 2014 Glacier Community Media | User Agreement & Privacy Policy


Lost your password?