Monday November 24, 2014


Survey results are meant for general information only, and are not based on recognised statistical methods.

Four classes at Speedway opener

Byron Fichter Fotography

Aaron Turnbull won the modified feature at the Estevan Motor Speedway's first program of the season.

The Estevan Motor Speedway had its season opener May 17 with four different classes, and a visit from several members of the Saskatchewan Roughriders.

Aaron Turnbull won the modified class feature race. Turnbull started the feature in 19th position out of 25 cars, and he gradually drew closer with each lap. With a few laps to go, Turnbull benefited form a caution, as he jumped third to first and led the rest of the race.

Mike Hagen didn’t benefit from the caution restart like Turnbull, as he led all race and had a nice lead over his competition. But he dropped to second after the restart, and the following lap collided with Jett Big Eagle, costing both their positions.

Mason Big Eagle took second, as he was racing in the top four for the majority of the race. Les McLenehan came in third and Joren Boyce was fourth.

Wissota late models are a new class at the track this year, and seven late models raced in the feature. Allen Kent took top spot.

Kent started the race in the third, and by the second, lap he was leading the pack. In the final laps Kent and Steven Pfeifer were in a heated battle for first, but Kent ended up the victor.

Pfeifer took second, while Tyson Turnbull came in third after starting the race in seventh. Bryce Beck was fourth.

In the stock class, Dalton Flory finished first as he started the race in the pole position, and led from start to finish.

In the final laps Jordan Durward challenged Flory for that that top spot, but finished the race in second place.

Geoff Mann came in third and Saskatchewan Roughrider offensive lineman Brendon Labatte was fourth.

In the hobby stock feature, Brad King was the winner, as he started up front and led the caution-free race from wire-to-wire.

In second was Leevi Runge, while Darren Schatz came in third and Cody Dignan was fourth.

It was also Rider Pride Night at the speedway, as members of the Saskatchewan Roughriders attended and signed autographs for fans. Chris Best, Macho Harris and Jade Etienne joined LaBatte in Estevan.

The next race at the speedway is May 31. The program starts at 7 p.m. 



NOTE: To post a comment in the new commenting system you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Yahoo, OpenID. You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Estevan Lifestyles welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

blog comments powered by Disqus

About Us | Advertise | Contact Us | Sitemap / RSS   Glacier Community Media:    © Copyright 2014 Glacier Community Media | User Agreement & Privacy Policy


Lost your password?