Saturday November 22, 2014


Survey results are meant for general information only, and are not based on recognised statistical methods.

Southern Corrosion wins OTS bonspiel

License Comments

(L-R) Lead Gerry Naka, second Greg Kallis, third Kevin Anderson and skip Jeff Mosley were part of the Southern Corrosion Control team that won the A final.

Southern Corrosion Control (SCC) won the A Final of this year's Estevan Oilfield Technical Society's (OTS) Oilmen's Open Bonspiel, which was held from March 27 to 30 at the Power Dodge Curling Centre.

SCC – consisting of skip Jeff Mosley, third Kevin Anderson, second Greg Kallis and lead Gerry Naka – scored three times in each of the fifth and seventh ends to double up McGillicky Oilfield 6-3 in seven ends.

Southern Corrosion was down 2-0 through the first four ends, even though SCC had the hammer from the start of the game. They blanked the first end, surrendered a steal of one to McGillicky in the second, blanked the third and gave up another steal of one in the fourth.

Mosley's rink finally hit the board with the three-point score in the fifth end to take a 3-2 lead. And it appeared they would add to the lead in the sixth, as they had three buried shot stones  

But McGillicky skip Bernie Bjorndalen executed a double raise takeout that allowed his team to score one and tie the game. The shot drew rousing cheers from the spectators.

“He called it and he made it, and it was a great shot,” said Mosley. “I thought we had him wired.”

The momentum was short-lived, however, as Mosley made a wide-open draw for three in the seventh to take the 6-3 lead into the final end. 

“I just made a conscious decision that we had to get lots of rocks in play,” said Mosley. “I think Bernie was content to keep the house open, and just play up and down the ice, and keep it close.”

There were some tense moments in the final end, as SCC flashed several rocks through the house, keeping McGillicky in the game. But SCC eventually managed to run their opponents out of rocks.

SCC has been a fixture at the bonspiel for many years, and has won the competition multiple times in the past. He noted that they have lost in the A final several times since they last won the bonspiel.

“We've been close, but just haven't been able to finish it off most years,” said Mosley.

A total of 46 teams entered this year's tournament. They played games over four days, and enjoyed a banquet on March 28.

Winners were crowned in several other divisions. Brent Gedak Welding won the B event, defeating Estevan Meter 6-5 in an extra end. URS Flint Energy took the C final, beating Packers Plus 10-3 in five ends.

And there were two D event finals. In one, Electro Gas edged Clean Harbours 6-5 in an extra end. And Aaron Oilfield made their last shot in the final end to defeat AT Naka Welding 6-5 in the other D final.


[Get Copyright Permissions] Click here for reuse options!
Copyright 2014 Glacier Media Inc.

License Comments


NOTE: To post a comment in the new commenting system you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Yahoo, OpenID. You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Estevan Lifestyles welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

blog comments powered by Disqus

About Us | Advertise | Contact Us | Sitemap / RSS   Glacier Community Media:    © Copyright 2014 Glacier Community Media | User Agreement & Privacy Policy


Lost your password?