Friday November 21, 2014


Survey results are meant for general information only, and are not based on recognised statistical methods.

College hands out scholarships


Scholarship recipients gather for a group picture on March 12.

The Southeast Regional College (SRC) recognized the achievements of local learners by handing out scholarships on March 12 at its Estevan campus.

A total of $14,850, in scholarships and bursaries was distributed to students attending the SRC in Estevan. Staff, students, guests and donors attended a reception.

“The foundation is extremely pleased to be able to provide this funding to students and help them achieve their educational goals,” said SRC marketing manager Dave Harazny.

“Because we have smaller class sizes and strong community support, our students have a greater chance of receiving a scholarship or bursary at the college versus attending a larger institution, which is a huge advantage,” said Harazny.

Once again, the foundation benefitted from the support of the Saskatchewan Opportunity Scholarship program, initiated by the Ministry of Advanced Education. Through this program, all funds donated for scholarships by private sector and community‐based partners will be matched by the provincial government.

Of the $14,850 awarded in Estevan, $6,475 was contributed through the Saskatchewan Opportunity Scholarship program.

“I am pleased to see so many students from Southeast Regional College benefiting from the Saskatchewan Innovation and Opportunity Scholarship,” Advanced Education Minister Rob Norris said. “This scholarship provides Saskatchewan post‐secondary students with opportunities to access the education and training they need to pursue their career goals while placing an emphasis on innovation and excellence.”

This year's recipients were:

*The Quota International of Estevan Saskatchewan opportunity scholarship went to office education student Chantel Johnson.

*Enbridge Pipelines bursaries went to power engineering students Sanketkumar Patel, Kendra Braun, Aaron Tytlandsvik and Preston Benning. 

*Governor's bursaries were presented to adult basic education students Marlene Piel and Lindsay Schoenthal.

*Voc-tech Saskatchewan opportunity entrance scholarships were presented to Johnson, Alex Hackel (electrical) and Aaron Tytlandsvik (power engineering).

*Tytlandsvik was also presented with the Weyburn Credit Union C.H. (Chuck) Hodgson Saskatchewan opportunity scholarship.

*Swing for Scholarships Saskatchewan opportunity scholarships were handed out to Johnson, Hackel, Patel, Callie Fair (office education), Shane Knight-Waters (electrician) and Isaak Greifenhagen (electrician).

*Logan Trippel (electrician) was presented with a Saskatchewan opportunity scholarship from the Government of Saskatchewan.




NOTE: To post a comment in the new commenting system you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Yahoo, OpenID. You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Estevan Lifestyles welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

blog comments powered by Disqus

About Us | Advertise | Contact Us | Sitemap / RSS   Glacier Community Media:    © Copyright 2014 Glacier Community Media | User Agreement & Privacy Policy


Lost your password?