Monday November 24, 2014


Survey results are meant for general information only, and are not based on recognised statistical methods.

Curling club hosts bonspiels


(L-R) Skip Audrey Robinson, third Christine Massier, second Candace Mohr and lead Brenda Wallewein won the women's bonspiel.

There was a lot of action at the Estevan Curling Club from February 1 to 3, thanks to the A & A Jewellers Women's Bonspiel and the Roy's Transmission/McComb Automotive Men's Bonspiel.

Audrey Robinson's entry defeated Gwen Barth's team 5-3 in seven ends to win the A final of the women's bonspiel. The game was tied through five ends, but Robinson scored once in the sixth end, and stole another point in the seventh, to take a two-point lead.

Robinson ran Barth out of rocks in the eighth end.

Other members of Robinson's team were third Christine Massier, second Candace Mohr and lead Brenda Wallewein.

Megan Greenwald scored three points in the eighth end to rally and defeat Joan Phair 6-4 in the B final. Sherillee Orsted doubled up April Hilstrom 6-3 in seven ends in the C final.

Adam Himmelspach won the A final of the men's bonspiel with a 5-4 victory over Riley Wallewein in a see-saw match with several lead changes. Wallewein scored twice in the seventh end to take a 4-3 lead, but Himmelspack made an open draw to score two in the eighth and final end, and win the match.

Third Ryan Hansen, second Layne Hawrylak and lead Bill Kapiczowski were the other members of Himmelspach's team. This was the second straight year that they have won the bonspiel.

Brent Giesbrecht defeated Bob Windfaldet 8-2 in six ends to win the B event. And Derrel Densley doubled up Arol Phair 8-4 in the C final.

Six teams were entered in each of the men's and women's bonspiels.

Each team played three games during a round-robin. They received points for every game they won and for every end in which they scored a point; they also received a half point for a blank end.

Robinson was the top women's team in the round-robin with 27.5 points. Himmelspach had the most points among the men's teams with 29.5.




NOTE: To post a comment in the new commenting system you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Yahoo, OpenID. You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Estevan Lifestyles welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

blog comments powered by Disqus

About Us | Advertise | Contact Us | Sitemap / RSS   Glacier Community Media:    © Copyright 2014 Glacier Community Media | User Agreement & Privacy Policy


Lost your password?